Eshi’s Sad Story

And here’s where two worlds meet. Careful readers of my ‘welcome’ message have already seen that I am active in the virtual world of Second Life and through my contacts there I came across this sad story.

Eshi Otawara (a Second Life name) lost her husband unexpectedly, two years ago. And while immigrants to the US who marry and then divorce after three months get every chance to complete the process of naturalization, immigrants who are faced with the sudden death of their spouse are pulled from the process and asked to leave.

Eshi’s husband, dr. Glenn J. Morris, served in the US Army. I know most conservative Americans love their armed forces and take great pride in them. And I know that being tough on immigration is also primarily a conservative thing – all over the world. But if this cold expulsion is the answer of the United States to the death of a loving husband and former serviceman, then all those yellow ribbons, all those parades, all those gatherings and speeches and statues and medals are worthless.

And whereas I do not advocate a special status for the spouses of service personnel, I know these are the prime victims in a time when America is losing so many of it’s finest on foreign battlefields. Honour them, honour them through their families and honour their families in their own right, for it’s these loved ones who gave a sacrifice of immeasurable value.

I urge my American friends to go here and act, or write their Congressman, or do whatever you think is the best way to create some leaverage in Washington. Maybe not for Eshi or the late Dr. Morris, but for the wives of those fighting and dying as we speak.

(Second Life is a trademark of Linden Research, Inc.)

