It’s the Season…

It was nothing really. It started around seven I guess, and at sundown there was a whole lot of smoke drifting northwestwards. After dark, at around nine, I made a picture. My first forest fire, on the hills to the east of our house.

In the composite picture I made, you can see how far away it really was – that was taken from my balcony last night (and again today). We were never in any sort of danger and it doesn’t look like we’ll ever be forced to flee the area. Still… those things are scary for a Dutchman. I was born in a country below sea level an I went to school in the very lowest area of Europe, but we don’t have huge forest fires because we don’t have huge forests. We rarely have earthquakes and we don’t have volcanoes. And so the sea doesn’t scare me much at all, but these unknown phenomena do. I guess unknown is the key word here.

One Comment

  1. I remember my first visit to Calabria. I was camping in a beautiful forest in the nature reserve called La Sila. I went to the reception desk and asked whether it would be allowed to start a fire for the BBQ. That’s okay, said the guy sitting at the desk. As long as you do not burn the forest. Next to the camping was a small helicopter field, where two swaggering helicopter pilots parked their chopper and their girl friends, who lay down to take to the sun. Then the pilots took of, in their cool hiking shoes, dragging a bucket; they filled it at the nearby artificial lake, flew elegantly to a plume of smoke somewhere in the mountains and turned back to repeat the whole routine. All in a leisurely tempo, no haste, no panic. Indeed, it’s the season. And this is Italy.

Comments are closed.